Team Maps

German Bundesliga 2008/09 interactive map


Hover over the teams on the map for full details

Hovering on the team reveals the team insignia, home stadium, major domestic & European titles won and link to their website.


German 2008/09 season summary

  • Bundesliga Champions
  • VfL Wolfsburg
  • Relegated from Bundesliga I
  • FC Energie Cottbus *
  • Karlsruhe SC
  • DSC Arminia Bielefeld
  • Promoted from Bundesliga II
  • SC Freiburg
  • 1.FSV Mainz 05
  • 1.FC Nürnberg *
  • DFB-Pokal 2009
  • Werder Bremen 1-0 Bayer 04 Leverkusen
  • Super Cup 2009 (unofficial)
  • Werder Bremen 2-1 VfL Wolfsburg

The bottom two teams from the Bundesliga are automatically relegated & the top two teams from the Bundesliga II are automatically promoted.

2008/09 season Bundesliga play-offs

* The team finishing 16th in the Bundesliga, goes into a play-off with the team finishing 3rd in the Bundesliga II, for the remaining place in the Bundesliga.

2008/09 season play-off final

1st leg: FC Energie Cottbus 0-3 1.FC Nürnberg

2nd leg: 1.FC Nürnberg 2-0 FC Energie Cottbus

1.FC Nürnberg won 5-0 on aggregate and were promoted to the Bundesliga for 2009/10 season, FC Energie Cottbus were relegated.