Team Maps

Polish Ekstraklasa 2008/09 interactive map


Hover over the teams on the map for full details

Hovering on the team reveals the team insignia, home stadium, major domestic & European titles won and link to their website.


Polish 2008/09 season summary

  • Ekstraklasa Champions
  • Wisła Kraków
  • Relegated from Ekstraklasa
  • Cracovia *
  • Górnik Zabrze
  • ŁKS Łódź ‡
  • Promoted from First League
  • Widzew Lódz ‡
  • Zagłębie Lubin
  • MKS Korona Kielce *
  • Puchar Polski 2009
  • Lech Poznań 1-0 Ruch Chorzów

The bottom two teams from the Ekstraklasa are automatically relegated & the top two teams from the First League are automatically promoted.

Łódź of trouble

‡ Despite finishing 8th ŁKS Łódź were refused a license for the 2009/10 season, consequently they were relegated in last place. In addition Widzew Łódź, who had finished champions of the First League were involved in a corruption scandal. It was decided that they too would be relegated, meaning they were denied their place in the Ekstraklasa and remained in the First League for the 2009/10 season.

2008/09 season Ekstraklasa play-offs

* The team finishing 14th in the Ekstraklasa, goes into a play-off with the team finishing 3rd in the First League, for the remaining place in the Ekstraklasa.
Due to the ŁKS Łódź case Cracovia, who were due to be automatically relegated were entered in the relegation play-offs in place of Arka Gdynia. Due to the decisions on the Łódź teams not being decided until late July, the Cracovia v MKS Korona Kielce play-off was cancelled and both teams will play in the 2009/10 Ekstraklasa.